April and May in review

April and May have been even more hectic for me. I struggled with my motivation to write and even read, thus ending up missing most of my deadlines. Again.

But considering all the stuff I did get done in these two months I have been unexpectedly productive. For example, I read a total of seven books in two months, three of them on Wattpad Classics, as well as a new novel, which I’m not counting here.

Books I finished:

  • A Brief History of Time, Stephen Hawking
  • Our Story Ends Here, Sara Naveed (review to be published elsewhere)
  • Carmilla, J. Sheridan Le Fanu
  • First Love, Last Rites, Ian McEwan
  • Dracula, Bram Stoker (re-read)
  • How it Happened, Shazaf Fatima Haider (review to follow)
  • Dracula’s Guest and Other Weird Stories, Bram Stoker

Currently reading:

  • A Cup of Rage, Raduan Nassar
  • Stay With Me, Maniza Naqvi

I have just begun A Cup of Rage and so far it seems that reading Nassar might just help me to finally reading and finishing Stay With Me. Both are quite similar in style and possibly in content, so yeah.

Woohoo!

Books to read in June:

While writing down the books I’d read so far in 2017, I realised that I have read only five books by women. Books by women were supposed to constitute three-quarters of all the books I read this year. So I’ve now rearranged my TBR list to focus more on women authors.

Women authors:

  • Nobody Killed Her, Sabyn Javeri
  • Night and Day, Virginia Woolf
  • Jacob’s Room, Virginia Woolf
  • My Ántonia, Willa Cather
  • One of Our Own, Willa Cather

Male authors:

  • Black Dogs, Ian McEwan
  • Enduring Love, Ian McEwan
  • Atonement, Ian McEwan

Anthologies/Collections:

  • Angaaray, Sajjad Zaheer, Ahmed Ali, Rashid Jahan, and Mahmuduzzafar
  • Selected Stories, Alice Munro

This blogging-shlogging is getting tedious!

I have begun to find blogging tedious. Even writing this blog was a struggle. There is so much I want to say but can’t seem to put it into words. I’m trying to resolve this by writing a little everyday in longhand in my bullet journal. Maybe I’ll write a blog about it too. But, not now. Later, maybe.

Have you ever experienced this too? I mean, not being able to keep updating your blog content because write you just. Can’t. Share your experiences in the comments.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “April and May in review

  1. Writing goes through phases. There are some times when I blog a lot, others when I can manage maybe a post a week. Don’t feel guilty about not blogging all the time if it isn’t your main work. Feel guilty if you’re not writing the things you want to write (novel, essays, poetry, etc.).

    Like

    1. Thank you for the final kick in the ass! It made me want to make a conscious effort to write the stories I always planned to write but never got around it. ^_^

      Like

    1. I read it back in university. Been in love with it since then. Finding a copy of it at the bookshop was the best part of my holiday! 😀 Can’t wait to re-read it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

