Review: A Brief History of Time

A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking
Photo by Author

ISBN: 9780553176988

221pp.

My rating: 3 stars out of 5

 

I’d have given this one 4 stars, but Chapter 8 on the the origins of the universe was so damn long that I lost my interest. I don’t know why but it took me nearly a month to get through that one chapter.

ffaf202c67fb7d09b9c7787967a819a6

My favourite thing about A Brief History of Time is that at some points through the book, I actually began to understand the physics of time and space, and all this quantum theory shizz, as depicted in Doctor Who.

Another thing I liked was that concepts such the ‘psychological’ and other ‘arrow[s]’ of time stuck in my head long after I had finished the book, and I actually referred to it in a panel discussion I participated in. Since I don’t usually have such moments, this particular moment means a lot to me.

I plan to read further on the physics of time and space. String theory section in Hawking’s book was slightly boring. However, I am still interested in theoretical physics as a subject, especially the physics of time and space. Next on my list are Carl Sagan’s Cosmos and A Pale Blue Dot — mainly because a friend of mine insisted that I must read Sagan before venturing any further in this area.

Have you read A Brief History of Time? Please share your thoughts in the Comments below.

3 thoughts on “Review: A Brief History of Time

Leave a Reply

