January in review

Here we are, already at the beginning of February.

January 2017 was overall a sluggish month for me. That applies to not just my progress with the Reading Challenge, but also to other aspects of my life.

I spent the first half of the month travelling in Italy and setting up my new bullet journal for this year. In the latter half, I struggled to get over the jet lag, grappling with too much sleeping at times and too little sleeping at others, and, of course, writing, reading, blogging, and sending out job applications. So, of course, my reading progress did suffer in the previous month.

Books I finished:

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. This was carried forward from December 2016. This is also going to be the first book I review in 2017. Review forthcoming this month. So, no spoilers for now.

A Tranquil Star by Primo Levi. Unpublished stories by the renowned Italian Jewish author of The Periodic Table, Survival in Auschwitz, and If Not Now, When. Tranquil Star has been on my TBR list since March 2016, when my sister bought me a copy from the Luxembourg International Bookshop in Torino, Italy. It wasn’t a particularly good read. I’d rather have re-read The Periodic Table instead. It would have been a much more illuminating experience. Clearly, these unpublished stories are unpublished for a reason.

My Current Reads:

The Voyage Out by Virginia Woolf. Her first book, which was published in 1915. I am reading this as part of my Woolf Chronology reading session. It’s also the first book by a woman writer that I am reading as part of my 2017 Reading Challenge. Review to follow soon.

Books to be read next:

This Wide Night by debutante Sarvat Hasin.

Things I’m looking forward to in February:

  1. The 8th Karachi Literature Festival scheduled to take place on 10, 11, and 12 February 2017.
  2. New books by Pakistani women writers are being released this month. I’m particularly looking forward to Hybrid Tapestries: The Development of Pakistani Literature in English by Muneeza Shamsie and Nobody Killed Her by Sabyn Javeri. Both books are going to be launched at the KLF this year.
  3. Pakistan’s Women’s Day on 12 February 2017.

 

In the next few weeks, I will be covering all of the above events, as well as publish my reviews of The Pillars of the Earth and The Voyage Out.

 

So how was January for y’all? Anything interesting planned for February? Let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “January in review

Leave a Reply

