An Update On My Reading Block Problem

Blogging University, Blogging 101

Days 3 and 4,

Task for Day 3: Follow five new topics in the Reader and five new blogs.

Task for Day 4: Publish a post you’d like your ideal audience member to read, and include a new-to-you element in it.

I am incorporating the tasks for both third and fourth days of Blogging 101 into this blog post.

Even though I read yesterday’s assignment in detail, and followed several new blogs and read posts on different topics. I say several, because I don’t remember exactly what number of blogs I followed. All I know that it definitely wasn’t just five blogs, but more than that.

Today’s task requires me to publish a post that is targeted at my ideal reader, and incorporates at least one aspect of myself that I have discovered within the last few days. So, without further ado, let’s read further.

What I learnt from Day 3’s assignment:

After reading several blogs yesterday, as well as this morning, I have concluded that I am primarily interested in the following topics: books, reading, writing, especially creative writing. Of course, these topics also incorporate Literature. Other related topics that I am interested in are: film, television, screenwriting, graphic novels, comics, popular culture. All of these have influenced my ideas about creative writing and its various aspects over the course of several years. These are, broadly speaking, the topics that I will write about on my blog. So, my ideal reader would also be interested in these same topics and that is the main reason why they should visit my blog, read my posts, and interact with me.

Day 4’s assignment:

By attempting today’s task, I am also going back to my previous month’s blog, ‘On Reading and Reader’s Block’.

In that blog, I wrote about how I have been unable to read at my usual fast pace for nearly three months now. The block continues unabated, unaffected, seemingly unending.

I also mentioned that I was returning to re-reading my favourites from my younger years, as well as those children’s classics that I have just discovered now.

Currently I am reading A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I added it to my Currently Reading list on Goodreads last month, but I finally started reading it a couple of days ago.

Cover of the edition I am reading

I am happy to report that I read 87 pages in nearly two hours or so.

I had expected the book to be a fast-paced one; and, I was right about it. This makes me feel good because I know I should be able to finish it today, provided I put in a sustained effort and enough time into it. If not, then I could easily finish it tomorrow night.

One of the most important things I have learnt from Blogging 101 course until now is that I must interact with my readers in order to improve my readership and increase my outreach.

So, to achieve this in my today’s task, I would like to extend an invitation to everyone who reads this post today to share their reading experiences and goals for 2015. Also, as I mentioned above, I am currently discovering children’s classics and would love to add more titles to my To-Read list. Do comment your favourite books from your childhood.

I look forward to your comments, feedback, and to hearing from you all.

7 thoughts on “An Update On My Reading Block Problem

  1. Reading block is definitely uncool. I’m currently stuck in two, wait, no, three books, and I’d like to read, I want to read, but I don’t want to read the ones I’m already reading (but it’d be nice to get them out of the awkward currently-reading/to-be-read ‘pile’). And it’s not like the books are bad or uninteresting (Horns by Joe Hill is far from uninteresting, but I seem to crawl through it, I guess I shouldn’t have watched the movie before finishing the book, but it just happened to be available.. :D).
    On to my reading goals. On Goodreads, I’ve set myself a challenge to read 30 books this year, so that’s my main goal, I guess. And my blog could also partly count as a reading goal, as I want it to be a book blog, so more reading – more blogging.
    And my childhood favorites. There are a bunch of Latvian books that I really loved and still like, e.g. Čitas Burtnīca by Anna Sakse (something like ‘Chita’s Notebook’ – about a female dog who writes a diary, the book is actually the diary), Krāsainās pasakas by Imants Ziedonis (‘Colourful Fairyfales’ where there’s a fairytale for various colours, like Black – about little devils (my favourite, tells about misbehaving little devils who eat letters out of books and nail each other’s tails to the ground and many other funny things :D), Brown, Red, Green – where forest comes to the city, etc.). I also lover Redwall by Brian Jacques (although, I’ve read only three books from the series). When I was around 12 or 14, tops, I really liked Sabrina the Teenage witch. We also had books that compiled the fairytales of various nations, e.g. a book with Mexican fairytales or a book with Indian fairytales (I mean American Indians, I just don’t remember what tribe exactly). I also liked Greek myths – my mom used to read them to me when she had a course in University about Greek mythology 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and write such a long comment. 😀

      Thought you’d like to know that I’ve found some more of my favourite children’s books while moving house. The next few weeks are going to be really fun as I’m re-read them. 😎

      Like

  2. Thanks for following my blog and all the best with your future blog journey.

    The best way to develop a readership is to not just read other blogs that interest you, but to comment. That was one of the first rules of blogging etiquette I learned. Don’t just follow or like something, but actually engage with it and then others will also do so in return.

    As far as reading, because that’s what my blog Word by Word is all about, I have a couple of challenges I set myself, though freedom to choose and read what I like is the most important element, so I set myself a challenge to read a book a week via Goodreads and I’ve been doing that for a few years now and this year for the first time since I like to read about other cultures and writers from other countries, I’m participating in another Goodreads challenge called ‘Around The World’ and I have pledged that half the books I read will be from countries other than England/America.

    I find twitter a great way to connect with like-minded readers and it is here I usually find reviews I am interested in and people who read translated fiction (which I love), there is a strong connection between the blog and twitter and getting to know those are on a similar reading/writing wavelength.

    Ok, well good luck and I look forward to reading more of your blog posts.

    Claire

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

